{"about":"Totals from every private foundation in the directory (at least $10M in assets, latest return e-filed), each return re-done by the code behind every proof page. No foundation is named, no EIN is published, and no lateness is counted.","builtAt":"2026-09-28","directoryBuiltAt":"2026-09-26","directorySize":11842,"read":11842,"refused":0,"refusedBy":{},"periodEnds":{"2022":1,"2023":9,"2024":6229,"2025":5455,"2026":148},"checks":{"minimum_investment_return":{"rounding":11032,"exact":717,"absent":24,"differs":6,"prorated":63},"excise_tax":{"rounding":11438,"absent":93,"exact":303,"differs":8},"distributable_amount":{"absent":958,"exact":10849,"floored":34,"differs":1}},"controls":{"FC-1":{"agrees":11812,"not reported":24,"differs":6},"FC-2":{"agrees":11741,"not reported":93,"differs":8},"FC-3":{"not applicable":895,"agrees":10883,"not reported":63,"differs":1},"FC-4":{"not applicable":895,"reported":10854,"not reported":93},"FC-5":{"not applicable":895,"reported":10946,"not reported":1},"FC-6":{"agrees":5329,"not reported":6513},"FC-7":{"reported":11756,"not reported":86},"FC-8":{"reported":11772,"not checked":70},"FC-9":{"not checked":11842}},"allChecksExactOrRounding":10789,"anyDiffers":15,"leapReadings":21,"differsBy":{"a short year the return does not prorate":5,"excise tax filed as zero":8,"other":2},"payout":{"measured":10807,"coverage":{"p10":0.7056,"p25":0.8997,"p50":1.0151,"p75":1.3783,"p90":2.8038},"belowOne":5069,"carryingUndistributed":4821,"undistributedTotal":19714229710,"payoutRateMedian":0.0498},"bands":[{"label":"$10M–$75M","n":9004,"assets":262906021784,"payers":8255,"coverageMedian":1.0127,"belowOne":3905,"carryingUndistributed":3686,"anyDiffers":12,"mixMedian":{"cash":0.0003,"savings":0.0174,"government":0,"stock":0.5103,"bonds":0,"other":0.0615,"mortgages":0,"land":0}},{"label":"$75M–$250M","n":1867,"assets":241237963577,"payers":1719,"coverageMedian":1.0211,"belowOne":799,"carryingUndistributed":753,"anyDiffers":2,"mixMedian":{"cash":0.0003,"savings":0.0177,"government":0,"stock":0.4409,"bonds":0,"other":0.1714,"mortgages":0,"land":0}},{"label":"$250M–$1B","n":651,"assets":306600141990,"payers":580,"coverageMedian":1.0222,"belowOne":257,"carryingUndistributed":264,"anyDiffers":1,"mixMedian":{"cash":0.0002,"savings":0.0177,"government":0,"stock":0.3556,"bonds":0,"other":0.277,"mortgages":0,"land":0}},{"label":"Over $1B","n":172,"assets":885266157008,"payers":155,"coverageMedian":1.0181,"belowOne":70,"carryingUndistributed":79,"anyDiffers":0,"mixMedian":{"cash":0.0002,"savings":0.0175,"government":0,"stock":0.1238,"bonds":0,"other":0.5603,"mortgages":0,"land":0}}],"assetsTotal":1696501401718,"mixWeighted":{"cash":0.0079,"savings":0.0458,"government":0.0318,"stock":0.3777,"bonds":0.0347,"other":0.4352,"mortgages":0.0005,"land":0.0058},"license":"CC BY 4.0","source":"IRS Form 990-PF e-file data (public domain), re-done by ParetoAlpha","page":"https://paretoalphasystems.com/research/990-pf-2026"}